Friday, March 19, 2010

PHT 450 "One Light Portrait"

Students recently completed a “One Light” portrait assignment following the style of portrait photographer, Darton Drake, out of Chicago. They were to create a series of 5 or 6 portraits from a single session and present them in a collage form. The results were intriguing, with each student showing their own interpretation of the assignment. I hope that you enjoy viewing the ones presented below.

Nikita Gushue

Melissa Carriere

Zach Ayotte

Miriam Den Oudsten

Karmen Meyer

Jessica Loughlin

Jeanetter Janzen

Thursday, March 18, 2010

NAIT Photo Student Wins Edmonton Journal Photo Contest

We were pleased to hear that 2nd Year Photo Student Karmen Meyer was the 1st Place winner in the recent Edmonton Journal photo contest for post-secondary students. Karmen won the contest with one of the images from her third semester photo thesis. The Journal ran an excellent story about Karmen on the front page of the Saturday, March 13 edition. To read the story, click here.

Congratulations Karmen! Here's the winning image . . .

Friday, March 5, 2010

Major Photo Conference at NAIT

California photographer Dane Sanders addresses the symposium.

The Photographic Technology program was pleased to host the recent Exposure Photography Symposium at NAIT. This four day event was organized by the Alberta and Saskatchewan chapters of the Professional Photographers of Canada and featured four speakers, an image competition with 260 photographs, national PPOC accreditation judging, national PPOC executive meetings, a Gala Awards evening, and social events. The event was a major success thanks to the concerted efforts of the organizing committee, led by Chairperson Ian Grant.

Tyler Meade from Kamloops demonstrates his commercial location photography technique.

All twenty 2nd Year students entered images in the image competition. Their submissions were judged amongst the entries from the professional photographers and did very well with 3 Merit Awards and 29 Acceptance Awards. The three major student awards for the competition went to: Brendan Klem (NAIT) for the General category; Trevor Burns (NAIT) for the Portrait category; and Arete Edmunds for the Commercial category. The Commercial Photographer of the Year Award went to Corey Hochachka of St. Alberta (a NAIT graduate), and the Portrait Photographer of the Year Award went to Kathy Walker of Red Cliff, Alberta. Congratulations to these individuals, and to all of the category winners.

Thursday, March 4, 2010

Photo History Students Tour Archives

On Feb. 12, the students in PHT210 Evolution of Photography, a second semester course, were treated to a field trip tour of the Provincial Archives of Alberta. Here the students got to see first hand some of the historical photographic materials and products they learn about in class. The tour was very interesting and informative. Many thanks to our gracious and knowledgable hosts for the tour, Terry O'Riordan (right), Audiovisual Conservator and Katie Roth (2nd from right), Reprographic Technician.